Day 16: Iloilo DIY Trip – Visiting Miagao Church

Even though I’m not a Roman Catholic, I always make it a point to visit an old church where I go. As the Philippines has been colonized by Spain for more than 300 years, I could say that the Philippines has plenty of these churches. My trip to Iloilo has proven this as it is famous for old churches and old houses. One of the churches that can be found in Iloilo is the Miagao Church.

M1Miagao Church, pronounced as Miag-ao, is a UNESCO Heritage Site located in Miagao, Iloilo. It was established in 1787, but was finished ten years later. It is also known as Sto. Tomas de Villanueva Parish Church.

M2

This might be the first church I have visited that has awe-strucking, jawdropping, speechless-inducing (insert more adjectives here) facade. This might also be the first church I have visited that is yellow-ish because of adobe.

20140914_113106

M4

Because I went to this Church on a Sunday, I had to take a quick photo of the interior as the people were starting to go inside for the mass.

M3

Transportation:

The travel time to Miagao from Iloilo city proper takes about 30-45 minutes. As I was toured by my friend who is a local, I did not commute to go here. However, she informed me that there are jeepneys bound to Miagao in the Terminal Market near Robinson’s Mall.

One thought on “Day 16: Iloilo DIY Trip – Visiting Miagao Church

  1. Pingback: Day 17: ‘Church-hopping’ in Iloilo | confessionsofagirlwanderer

Comments are closed.